Rapper Is Gay, But Not

by maxmosher

Rapper Lil B has come out of the closet in a very public way: he has titled his next album ‘I’m Gay’. But before you go looking for him on Grindr, keep in mind that he’s heterosexual.

“I’m very gay, but I love women,” he maintains. “I’m not attracted to men in any way. I’ve never been attracted to a man in my life. But yes I am gay, I’m so happy,” he said. “I’m a gay, heterosexual male.”

Yes, it’s confusing, but that is the magical world of hip hop.

Is it a gimmick? Possibly. The rapper has a reputation for outrageous tweets and for heavily monopolizing facebook and myspace to further his career. Even the Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) has provided only lukewarm support by saying that they hope it is a “sincere attempt to be an ally.”

But, even though the album has not been recorded yet, the backlash is very real. Former fans have lambasted him with homophobic hate mail, some even sending death threats. “People been hitting me up like, ‘I’m gonna bash your head in,’ ‘you faggot,’ ‘I’m gonna kill you,’” he claims.

“I’m not gonna stop and I’m not scared of anybody on earth. That’s why I [titled the album ‘I’m Gay’] and nobody gonna stop me.” A brief survey of the online rap community uncovers some pretty vitriolic language, some saying that anyone who listens to Lil B is now automatically gay and others pronouncing his career dead.

Lil B has said that his support for queer rights motivated the title (“I got major love for the gay and lesbian community, and I just want to push less separation and that’s why I’m doing it.”) but the real explanation might be a mixture of sincere support and career-boosting publicity.

At it’s best, ‘I’m Gay’ has exposed the level of homophobia in the rap world and how it can be unleashed on even a straight man. Like the books that used to be written by men who went ‘undercover’ pretending to be Jewish or black, Lil B has bravely tried to walk a mile in somebody else’s rubbie slippers.

