Conversation Overheard on the Ossington Bus

by maxmosher

I’m paraphrasing, but I heard a teenage boy sitting behind me say this to his female companion.

“Like, I don’t know… Lately, I’ve been thinking more about things happening for a reason, y’know? Like signs. Like, for instance, I had this English project to do based on this book, and I really didn’t like it. It was just, like, not my kind of book. I probably read about twenty or thirty pages. I don’t know… have you heard of Catcher in the Rye? Anyways, we had to do this project on it, and I was going to do a video about the main character. And this guy, he wears a hat. Like, a red baseball cap. And I really needed it for the filming, but I didn’t have one. I went online and, like, you could buy one for like forty dollars. But I didn’t want to do that. And then, randomly, after school I went into this dollar store because I wanted a snack. And, this is what I mean by signs, I looked up and I saw the exact red hat that I needed, like it was meant to be. And all I wanted was a chocolate bar. But sometimes it’s like there’s a plan.”

“Wow,” his friend said.

“And I got, like, 95% on the project.”

I can’t know for sure, but I think Holden would love this.

